juice detox

so i watched fat, sick & nearly dead last night. i have to say i was totally impressed. i’ve tried keeping to a raw foods diet several times, but always felt like binging on junk food after a week. so if this obese truck driver can live off of juice for 60 days… and lose all that weight & change his whole life, why can’t i? i’m not looking to lose 100 pounds or anything. i just want to be fit. athletic. clear up my skin. and detox my organs from sugar and processed foods. i think i’ll try and do juice only until i feel like i need real food… and then i’ll add in some raw food recipes. i’ll go with what my body tells me. except if it’s craving coffee or cookies. 😛

day 1 grocery

*all organic* 1 bunch kale, 2 stalks celery, 5lb carrots, 1 bunch parsley, 4 cucumbers, 2 lemons, 5lb apples, 1 head red cabbage, and a bag of raw almonds. Total Cost: $38.99

at another store i purchased: baby spinach, tomatoes, bell peppers, ginger & onion. (about $20?)

i am interested to see how long these items last me…. how often will i need to run to the store for more produce? i feel like this will last me the week…. ???

lunch juice:

2 celery stalks, 1 small ripe tomato, 1/2 cucumber, bunch of parsley, 3/4 red bell pepper, 1 small apple (peeled), and fresh lemon juice squeezed in at the end (not in the juicer). pretty tasty. i enjoyed it.

time to JUICE!!!!

this juicer i have *omega* was a birthday gift in 2008. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I USED IT! before that i had a breville that i used constantly, but it broke down on me. i have no idea why i didn’t utilize the juicer when i lived in california. fresh produce from the farmers market? oy! oh well.

in between lunch & dinner i had lots of filtered water. 😀

dinner juice:

carrots (8) & apples (3)
i peeled the carrots & apples just in case… this is my go to juice whenever i’m at a juice bar. i thought the apples might give me a boost of sugar for my headache!

i have a TERRIBLE headache (lack of food / caffeine i’m guessing) so i ate a macrobar i had stashed in my nightstand. i know i know. cheating on day 1 already. i try not to take any types of medications unless i absolutely have to, so no aspirin for me. 😦 i’m hoping by monday the caffeine withdrawals are gone. i might go make another cup of juice tonight. two cups is not enough for an entire day!

before bed juice:

4 leaves kale, 3 celery, handful parsley, lemon, 1/4 red pepper, 1″ piece ginger, 1/2 cucumber, 1 tomato
it was pretty spicy (which is good) from the ginger. i probably should have added some apple for my headache, but whatever. i really don’t mind the kale juice. i think my favorite flavors so far are celery & cucumber! 🙂

2 thoughts on “juice detox

  1. I was going to suggest adding ginger to some of your juices, but then you did it at the end! My ex had a juicer and always added ginger. Yum! Beets are good ingredients too.

Leave a Reply

