what to do when you run out of daiya… and i’m feeling under the weather soup.

so this morning i was feeling a bit under the weather. so no coffee for me. i drank some coconut water.. and some regular filtered water…trying to make myself feel better.

lunch:

veggies for my tempeh scramble

so basically i wanted a tempeh scramble. i have everything i needed until i realized DOH! i’m out of daiya. what is a vegan girl to do?!?!?! 😉 so i thought about my favorite “tempeh helper” recipe and decided to make a “cheese” sauce to go with my tempeh scramble. what a fun recipe! now my belly is happy!

tempeh scramble

 

  • tempeh scramble
  • easy breezy cheezy sauce (appetite for reduction cookbook)

Tempeh Scramble
RECIPE

ingredients:
one block tempeh (steam before using in recipe! then cut into bite sized chunks)
1/2 yellow onion (diced)
1/2 red bell pepper (seeded & diced)
1 medium tomato (diced)
handful fresh spinach
zucchini & yellow squash (chopped)
gimme lean sausage (crumbled up)
earth balance

how to make it:
melt the earth balance in a large pan. cook onion until tender. add zucchini, squash & red pepper to the onion and cook for 5-7 minutes or until tender. add tomato, spinach, tempeh & sausage. cook on medium low for about 10 minutes or until everything is cooked to your liking.

in a separate pot, make the easy breezy cheezy sauce. (instead of standard yellow mustard, i used a yellow mustard horseradish concoction that i have!)

on a plate combine the two. and let your taste buds party!

so yummmmmmmy!

dinner:

chick-un noodle soup ingredients!
  • chick-un noodle soup

so i’ve been feeling like i’m on the verge of getting sick. i can NOT get sick. because then my 87 year old grandmother will get sick and end up in the hospital again. so… i’m doing EVERYTHING i can think of to make myself better. 😀 i took a trip to whole foods (yay a whole five minutes!) and stocked up on organic veggies & also got some vitamins!  this is my go to soup when i’m feeling sicky poo.

Stephie’s Chick-Un Noodle Soup
RECIPE

ingredients:
organic carrots – chopped
organic celery – chopped
onion – diced
organic baby bok choy – chopped
ramen noodles (i DO NOT use the seasoning)
cubed seitan
veggie boullion cube
nutritional yeast
earth balance or canola oil
white pepper
turmeric

stephie's chick-un noodle soup

how to make it:
melt earth balance & saute onions in large pot over medium high heat for seven minutes – add chopped carrots and celery & also seasonings. cook for about 7 to 10 minutes. add boullion & 8-10 cups of water (depending on quantity of veggies you are using). add the bok choy and cover. bring soup to a boil. add ramen noodles, seitan, and nutritional yeast. soup is finished when ramen noodles & veggies are tender.

i’m eating my soup as i’m typing up this blog… it makes me feel instantly better.
so hopefully i’ll wake up in the morning feeling 100%!

One thought on “what to do when you run out of daiya… and i’m feeling under the weather soup.

  1. mmmmm I see bok choy. nom nom nom Did you get yourself Brendan Brazier’s newest Thrive book?? If not let me know and I will send you this AWESOME recipe for a Temple Bowl. I made it yesterday and I gobbled it down on the plane. I made some adjustments to the hummus and added extra herbs (Well, I just didn’t measure it out). Seriously, its like a dance party on my taste buds. Next time I will buy more bok choy, I only bought two instead of four. This will be my new go-to yummy nutrient-rich meal. nom nom nom. Hope to see you soon! xoxo

Leave a Reply

